skinny roos

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by Sylverfly, Oct 24, 2011.

1. Sylverfly

Sylverfly Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2009
    Northeastern Michigan
    This is my first time raising meat birds. I picked Barred Rock roos because I wanted a Natural growing bird they are going to be 2 months at the end of October. I feed them multiple times a day much more then I feed my laying hens...who are little fatties, and there are only a few more meat birds then laying hens in the other coop. The rocks look like they are almost the right size to process but when I pick them up you can clearly feel the breast bone on them. They look fat to the eye and are only really hungry first thing in the morning. They don't look like a skinny chicken if you know what I mean. So do they fill in later, or am I doing something wrong or is it because they grew so fast. I've already began feeding more and I've started giving them corn along with the feed.

Aso I've been feeding grower feed rather then grower/finisher do I need to switch. The grower has higher protein levels then the finisher.

2. Tracydr

Tracydr Chillin' With My Peeps

I don't think the heritage breeds really put on any fat until about 16-20 weeks of age. Right now, at 8 weeks, calories are still going to frame. Plus, you picked a breed that will never have much breast and may always have a prominent breast bone.

3. Sylverfly

Apr 29, 2009
    Northeastern Michigan
    Ok so keep feeding and wait a little longer and see what I get. Thanks

4. bigredfeather

bigredfeather Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2008
    Yorkshire, Ohio
    Quote:In adding corn, you're actually lowering the protein level of what you're feeding. I would not give them any additional corn, as it will result in more fat and less meat.

5. kfacres

kfacres Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 14, 2011
    Quote:you get what you buy... and want..