Skittish Chicks

SMRich1

Hatching
7 Years
Mar 15, 2012
I am new to raising chickens, only had my own chicks for about 2 weeks now. I was told that you need to handle them daily so they become used to you. we have two chicks that are 2 and a half weeks old, and one that is about 3 and a half weeks old, who was added about two days after the first 2. The older one is very skittish and seems to project that onto the younger 2, even though we handle them daily. (my daughter (11) would actually sleep with them if I let her!) how do I get them over being so... flighty? I want to get them to the point where they are like those chickens I read about who fall asleep on your lap and follow you around. Any suggestions?

Welcome!

They are tiny things, give 'em some time.

Your goal of having lap chickens, while understandable, is unrealistic. It's good to take the bird on its own level. Yes, we love to talk about the birds that do that stuff, but for every one lap chicken there are many "natural" birds who go their own wonderful chicken way. :)

Try the French Favarolle breed of chicken. They are very calm and pleasant to be around and make good kids pets if the child is taught how to handle the bird properly. I had them at one time but they are so calm (or stupid) they are on the bottom of the peck order in a mixed flock and they don't have much hawk or coyote smarts and in a free range situation, like i use in the warmer months,they can't seem to find thier way home. They were so calm they even forgot to get out of the way of a moving horse herd! I aways got a kick out of those silly birds. After I saw the death wish behavior of these things, I gathered up what was left of thier number and gave them to some neighbor kids for a 4-h project. The little gal won 1st place with one of the hens and it became her favorite pet.They do well in a confinement and pet situation.