1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Slaughter at MAD Ranch

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by MadRanchTX, Dec 22, 2011.

1. MadRanchTX

MadRanchTX New Egg

Dec 29, 2010
    I got home 1/2 hour before sundown last night to find piles of feathers and feet scattered around outside the coop. No birds in the coop. I widened my circle finding 4 distinct sets of feathers. I have (had) 4 hens and 2 roos. When I made it back to the coop I found 1 hen huddled in the corner alive and scared to death. She seemed unmolested but very frightened. I'm hoping a second bird is in hiding and will turn back up today. I don't have a covered run, the coop sits inside a chain link fenced area about 50'x100'. This is my first year with chickens, they have been in this setup since the beginning of June without any problems. The coop is 8'x12' so my survivor will stay locked up when unsupervised until I can get a covered run built. My real problem is I have 1 chicken left. I need to get her some company to overwinter with. I have chicks ordered for April delivery. If anyone lives in or around Parker Counter, TX that can part with a bird or two please let me know. I'm not looking for a freebie or dinner my girl needs some company. I had blue and black Ameraucana but any breed would be OK. Thanks in advance.
    Mark

2. Bianca67

Bianca67 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 3, 2011
    Cedar Springs, MI
    Sorry for your loss. [​IMG]

3. shellyga

shellyga Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 23, 2010
    Milner
    sorry to hear about your loss.. [​IMG]