Slugs, worms, wood lice, snails etc etc

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by GardenDave, Aug 29, 2013.

1. GardenDave

GardenDave Out Of The Brooder

Aug 5, 2013
    Does anybody save any bugs or anything they find in their garden for the chickens? I am wondering if there is anything I can do, particularly with the slugs and snails. I don't want to kill them just because they get on my nerves but if I can use them as feed some how then great. I don't mind boiling them or anything if I know they will be appreciated by the chickens. I have already tried them with a live slug but they just looked grossed out. Does anybody have any recipes please?

2. piphens7

piphens7 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 29, 2013
    Cumbria England
    Hi, my kids love digging up worms etc and feeding them to our delighted hens! I am sure they appreciate the help lol. However I'm really new to all this, I wish the hens could eat the huge spiders in our house as well!

3. chfite

chfite Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2011
    Taylors, SC
    I would toss in the live critters and let the chickens decide.

Chris

4. AK Baha

AK Baha Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 10, 2013
    Anchorage, Alaska.
    My grand kids catch all kinds of bugs and feed them to the chickens. They will not eat bees hornets or wasps tho.

5. nab58

nab58 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 28, 2013
    CT
    I've heard earthworms carry parasites, but that's my chickens favorite snack to forage for.

I would think chickens would love slugs. Are they young chickens? Mine didn't really eat bugs until they started to lay.

I saw one of my chickens running around with a tree frog hanging out of its beak the other day!

6. Fat Man

Fat Man Out Of The Brooder

Aug 14, 2010
    Most animals do fine with a moderate of gut parasites. Feed them things that discourage parasites and there will be a balance.

7. donrae

donrae Hopelessly Addicted Premium Member

Jun 18, 2010
    Southern Oregon