Small air cell

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by n3kms, Feb 14, 2015.

1. n3kms

n3kms Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 28, 2010
    Middle Tennessee
    I'm on day 15. If the air cells look too small and with no water added at all the humidity is 10-20 % should I do that or continue to try to stay around 40%? Here are pics with the air cells drawn on days 8 and 14.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. AmericanMom

AmericanMom Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2013
    Oregon
    They do look a bit small but I have had some look small also and had them hatch out fine... having your humidity at 40% is fine, and when you get to day 18 bump it up to 60 -65..

3. n3kms

Jun 28, 2010
    Middle Tennessee
    I was hoping someone would say they had chicks hatch with small air cells. This is my first time and the pictures in the learning center looked a lot bigger. My problem is that without water humidity is very low, if hygrometer is accurate, and if I add a tsp. it goes to 60% . I will open briefly over the next couple of hours to get it down to 40% but by morning or after work it will be down to 15%. I think I have figured out what to do next time but I don't want to loose these chicks. I think what I should have done was add a small container of water that had a small surface area instead of just pouring water into the bottom as the instructions said. But that only occurred to me yesterday.

4. AmericanMom

Aug 10, 2013
    Oregon
    Add your water and leave it for 24 hours, it may take it a bit to stabilize [​IMG] The constant opening and closing the incubator messes more with your temperatures than anything.. Have you taken both plugs out? I have them in a bag somewhere in a drawer.. LOL, I never use them