Small coop using wood playset?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by speeps76, Dec 7, 2012.

1. speeps76

speeps76 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 7, 2012
    North Carolina
    Hi all, I am about to venture into the backyard chicken world, Lord help me! We would probably only have 2 chickens (buff orpingtons I think). We have a wooded play set that has a slide attached to a platform. I'm wondering if the space under that is enough for a couple of chickens. The platform is about 4 - 4 1/2 feet high, at the base it is about 5ft x 2 1/2ft. I'm thinking we could close in the top half and use a little creativity to make it easy to clean and put in some nesting boxes. The bottom half could be the run if we run some chicken wire around it and make a door. I'm thinking of doing the extra lip of wire around the base to keep predators from digging under. Since I'm totally new to this, I wanted to know if anyone who knows what they're doing (as opposed to me) thinks about the idea. Thanks so much for your patience with a newbie.

We're in north/central NC, so weather is pretty mild most of the time. We do get hawks, raccoons, foxes and the occasional coyote.

2. Scott H

Scott H Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 29, 2012
    Twin Lakes, ID
    My Coop
    A picture speaks a 1000 words.....

3. speeps76

Dec 7, 2012
    North Carolina
    This is the same play set... the area under the platform is a bit larger than the chicken/rabbit hutch I've seen in the Tractor Supply. Still don't know if that's enough for 2 chickens.

[​IMG]

4. Scott H

Scott H Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 29, 2012
    Twin Lakes, ID
    My Coop
    I think it would work. You could put the nesting boxes on the outside of your wall so it wouldn't take up any interior space and make gathering your eggs much easier. Be sure to think "predator proof!"

5. speeps76

Dec 7, 2012
    North Carolina