1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Smart Chicken Coop Monitoring & Control System! We NEED your input!!

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Babbers1691, Apr 6, 2016.

1. Babbers1691

Babbers1691 New Egg

Apr 6, 2016
    Colorado Springs, CO
    [​IMG]

Hello everyone! I am an Electrical Engineering student doing a senior design project before I graduate. My team has chosen to do a "Smart Coop System" which will be an integrated system, easily installed in existing coops, that allows Backyard Chicken Farmers to monitor and control their coop as well as alert them to any possible issues. For our research portion of our project, I wanted to survey you all and see what features you would like to see in a system like this.

I have listed below options that we are planning to have, but please feel free to add anything you feel you would need/want. You can simply say, "I would like options #1, 3, 5." or something to that effect. It would also be extremely helpful if you could include what state or country you are located along with how many chickens you have. If this sort of system is something you would rather not have, that's okay, let us know! Your input is greatly appreciate and essential to our research portion of our project! Thanks in advanced!

#1 Temperature monitoring (alerts when temp is too high or too low depending on user settings)
    #2 Water/Feed Level alert (alerts when low)
    #3 Air Quality Control (monitors humidity, ammonia, and CO2)
    #4 Nesting Box Egg detector (detects when an egg is laid in a box)
    #5 Hen laying tracker (tracks which hen laid an egg)
    #6 Chicken Tracking (alerts when chickens get outside a perimeter such as into a garden or any other area)