Sneezing and does not lay eggs?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Mama fluff, Nov 18, 2019.

1. Mama fluff

Mama fluff Chirping

Nov 4, 2019
    Pennsylvania
    Wasn’t sure where to post this but I have a hen who is almost two years old she has been sneezing since she was a chick ! ( I bought her as a day old chick) no other symptoms except she has literally only laid maybe 2 or 3 eggs in her life! She eats and drinks and is normal otherwise!! I was just wondering does anyone have a chicken who just sneezes and isn’t sick? What could be the reason for this? Do chickens have allergies? As for the non egg laying she did just go through a hard molt ! She was practically bald !

2. BDutch

BDutch Songster

May 19, 2015
    the Netherlands
    My Coop
    I have no experience with a chicken like this. But I had 6 chicks with a cold couple a years ago. Some were lightly sneezing and grew over it in a week of 2. After six weeks the one with most problems finally got over it.

Because I was worried I read about sneezing and sick chickens. There is a disease IB /infection (a type of influenza) that can cause problems with the egg production. And makes hens infertile. Sorry I forgot the name to search for it on the internet.

If you think she is happy, and you don’t mind she doesn’t produce any eggs? I would keep her.

3. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Enabler

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    Does she sneeze all the time or do you notice it more when she has been eating/drinking?
    Since she is almost 2yrs old and has sneezed since she was a chick and you don't mention that any of your other birds have ever had any problems, the likelihood that she has a respiratory disease is small.
    What breed is she? Do you have another similar breed to compare her to? Possibly her nares (nostrils) are smaller?