Sneezing chicken

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by lauren212, Sep 11, 2016.

1. lauren212

lauren212 Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2016
    Ontario
    I went to pick up another chicken yesterday and when I got there I noticed a lot of the chickens were sneezing. I picked one that looked healthy and brought it home. When I got home it was in contact for maybe 5 minutes with my other chickens. I removed it because they were picking on her. Then she started sneezing and her tail was down. I isolated her. At night she was breathing with her beak open and this morning the sneezing was really bad and she wasn't eating. I ended up culling her because I didn't want to risk my other birds. Do you think my other chickens will possibly get what ever respiratory disease she had? I'm never going back to that farm again. I realize now I should have isolated her for a few days to observe her. This is my first time having chickens

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    I'm sure it was possible after that brief exposure for her to spread whatever she had to others. You did the correct thing by removing. You might have tried to see if she could be treated or got better. You might want to research some respiratory conditions in poultry just in case your other birds start to show symptoms. Good luck to you!

3. chickens really

chickens really Overrun With Chickens

If you introduced the sick bird to your flock even for 5 minutes ? You have exposed all your birds to disease...Your shoes and clothes are contaminated from being on the property of the sick birds...I am sure you have the same tires on your truck you picked the bird up with? Never washed them or burned your clothes?
    Chicken disease spreads from the dander and saliva of a Chicken...

Sorry you took such a risk...

Good Luck..

4. KayTee

KayTee Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2012
    South West France