Sneezing/Congested Chickens

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by BPM83, Nov 30, 2016.

1. BPM83

BPM83 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 18, 2016
    Peculiar, MO
    I have several chickens that are congested and sneezing. The sickest ones also have foul smelling breath. All are eating and drinking well and behaving normally. I separated the visibly sick from the others and started everyone on Duramycin. Any ideas as to what they may have or suggestions on treatment? Thank you.

2. newhenintown

newhenintown Out Of The Brooder

Nov 22, 2016
    Hayden, Al
    It sounds like it might be coryza but im no expert. As far as treatment im unsure as I've never dealt with it before. Hopefully someone much wiser on the issue will respond.

Last edited: Nov 30, 2016
    1 person likes this.
  3. Wyorp Rock

Wyorp Rock Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Sep 20, 2015
    Southern N.C. Mountains
    As @newhenintown has suggested, the foul smell could possibly be Infectious Coryza.

Any discharge from the eyes/nose?
    Can you take them to a vet?

You can try the Duramycin for Coryza, but usually Sulfa drugs may be more effective.

FWIW make sure the foul smelling breath is not due to a crop issue (like sour crop) and is coming from the discharge from the illness.

Keep in mind that most respiratory illnesses are contagious and will make exposed and recovered birds carriers for life. Antibiotic treatment will only help with any secondary infections and won't cure the disease.

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044

4. BPM83

BPM83 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 18, 2016
    Peculiar, MO