1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Sneezing, coughing, swollen eyes.. Help Please!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by elainew, Apr 21, 2011.

1. elainew

elainew New Egg

Apr 21, 2011
    Hello Everyone!
    I am a NEWBIE chicken owner!Never owned a chicken before in my life before 2 months ago! This morning I noticed 2 of our hens with sneezing, a swollen eye, like a mucus coming out of the nose maybe, and what sounds like coughing.
    These hens are mixed breed chickens, I don't know how old they are cause i bought them this size.
    This is also the first sign of any trouble. They are good eaters and good layers.
    Our chicken pen and yard has just been built and we keep it cleaned out at all times. There's no stacks of poop is what i am trying to say [​IMG] .
    We keep the water source off of the ground so it's not full of poop either. and it's changed daily.
    And they have feed out for them at all times. Nothing I own goes hungry, (including myself) LOL..
    Any advice, thoughts would be so welcome!
    Oh I should add we have the 8 full grown hens, and 36 teenage chickens in the pen..
    Thanks so much in advance for your help!
    Sincerely,,
    Elainew..

2. SunnyDawn

SunnyDawn Sun Lovin' Lizard

Sep 12, 2009
    Nor Cal
    Oh no! I wish I could help but I haven't come across this before. I have read other threads on this before though. Maybe do a search on sneezing or swollen eyes? I'm sure it's nothing you have done. Maybe try some vitamin water? I use the chick vitamin powder for my newly hatched babies, I would think they might help even grown chickens. Same strength since they would just drink more water. I sure hope they feel better soon! [​IMG]

3. schellie69

schellie69 Chillin' With My Peeps