1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

snow and ducks

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by critterranch, Dec 4, 2010.

1. critterranch

critterranch Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 1, 2010
    Red Creek, New York
    anyone let their ducks free range out in the snow?
    mine stayed out all day high was 29 and 10 iches of snow they loved it.
    no i dont put hay on ground for them i see it as waste. i only put hay in their house 4x4 house with 60 watt bulb for light and heat. food and water stays outside.

Last edited: Dec 4, 2010
  2. D'Angelo N Va.

D'Angelo N Va. Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 28, 2009
    I am just getting into ducks...had some awhile back..all the females are gone but I have 2 males that come and go, but they are fine in what ever weather we get. I just brought 2 Muscovies this year about a month ago and am looking forward to putting them on the pond as soon as my fence is up...probably about another month or two....I need about 2000 ft. of wire to do it all...and I hate cold so if it's a nice day I can work outside...and they seem to be only nice when I am at work. lol

3. JosieR

JosieR Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 24, 2010
    Orange County, NY
    I think I might. I will have to see...They have a small 3x5 insulated house, it has a small door out to an enclosed run. The entire thing is elevated off the ground. The door from the house to the run is open at night, though I have it propped open just enough for them to get in and out but closed enough to block some of the wind.