So excited my son getting silkies for Christmas (newbies)

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by son4momtime, Dec 6, 2013.

1. son4momtime

son4momtime Out Of The Brooder

Dec 6, 2013
    Tampa Florida
    Hi All..New to this. Trying to put together a coop which will be easy to clean and good for the chicks..What kind of floor would be best I have some old rubber mats I had in the garage was wondering would that work? Any ideas would be helpful...Thanks

2. Catfish267

Catfish267 Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 26, 2012
    I Don't Remember
    most people use pine shaving or straw. I use a raised wire floor. They pop a lot so be prepared. Go ahead and give the mat a try just be prepared if it doesn't work[​IMG]

3. texgardengal

texgardengal Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 23, 2013
    Hello from Texas!!
    I'm new to raising chickens too. I have my coop on the ground... I cover it with hay. Every few days I rake it up, and replace it with new fresh hay. Hope this helps!!:)

4. son4momtime

Dec 6, 2013
    Tampa Florida
    So I should't worry about a floor what happens when it rains? I would need a second level.

5. son4momtime

Dec 6, 2013
    Tampa Florida
    Thanks

6. Kelsie2290

Kelsie2290 True BYC Addict Premium Member

Feb 18, 2011
    Ohio
    Hello :frow and Welcome To BYC! You might want to check out the Coop/Run Design and Maintenance forum for ideas. What kind of bottom or floor would work best will depend on a number of things like your area's weather, if you get a lot of rain, snow or flooding, where you are able to put the coop in your yard for drainage, etc. https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/9/coop-run-design-construction-maintenance

7. Fierlin1182

Fierlin1182 powered-flight

Aug 26, 2011
    Hi and :welcome

Our chicken coop doesn't really have a floor, it's built straight on the ground so the floor is dirt. We put grass clippings in there as well to make it smell nice. :p