So excited to be here!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by jenemal, Jul 19, 2019.

1. jenemal

jenemal Chirping

Jul 19, 2019
    Hello!

My name is Jen and I have been dying to get chickens for years and finally just bought my own home and now can actually get some! I am very new to chickens and have a couple of friends who raise them and suggested I check out this site for all of the chicken knowledge. I pretty much have been non stop reading and trying to soak up as much information as I can.

I am hoping to get some feathered family (primarily for eggs and pets) in the Spring of 2020 but would like to have everything all set and ready for them before the end of the summer so I can monitor and check coop temperatures/ conditions throughout our fall and winter (I live in Ohio).

Right now I work for The Ohio State University with my PhD in Biomedical Engineering but am also a professional cyclist. I have two rescue pups (an "Ohio Brown Dog" and an Old English Sheepdog) and am a huge animal lover. My other hobbies include painting and gardening.

I cannot wait to meet you all and am open to any and all chicken advice :)!

2. Pork Pie

Pork Pie Flockwit

Jan 30, 2015
    007Sean, rjohns39, N F C and 7 others like this.
  3. TwoChicksChix

TwoChicksChix Songster

May 29, 2019
    West Palm Beach Florida
    Hiya there!

Getting chickens can be a lot of fun and very rewarding. Just watching them run about the yard like dorks is better than tv!

Any specific breeds you have in mind?

4. CarpCharacin

CarpCharacin Cyprinus carpio

Aug 17, 2016
    Salt Lake City, UT
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! We're glad you decided to join our wonderful community! :welcome

007Sean, rjohns39, N F C and 8 others like this.
  5. jenemal

jenemal Chirping

Jul 19, 2019
    Hi!
    I am definitely excited to bond with them and watch their antics.