So... I should cull all my new birds?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by ND, Aug 20, 2010.

1. ND

ND Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 20, 2010
    I'm new to chickens... I purchased all birds in my flock from one person, who free ranged all his birds (that were old enough to do so), and have 3 year old brahmas, and 10 pullets (I'm hoping mostly pullets!) of slightly varying ages. (3-5 months or so, I think) I believe most of this persons birds (the younger ones) are hatchery stock he buys as day olds and then raises awhile and resells. I don't know what hatchery.

They were all free ranging together, and once old enough to free range, housed in the same big barns at night.

I had them for two weeks or so when two suddenly woke up with a matted eye (one eye each) and acted a bit lethargic, another was acting slightly lethargic, no matting, but sneezing. The feed store gave me some antibiotics for the water, and I started treating with that. We had to go unexpectedly out of town on a family emergency the next day, and my sister come over daily to check/feed/water/medicate. They were all looking great when we got back home. The meds said to do a 7-14 day treatment. I stopped at day 10, I think, 5 days after the last one was showing any symptoms at all.

TWO days after stopping treatment, the two with matted eyes had the same eye looking watery again, both were randomly sneezing (sounded kinda like a wet sneeze) and at least 4 of the young ones had a clear, watery fluid around their noses. [​IMG] The older birds aren't sick acting/looking... and only 4 of the younger birds have had any apparent symptoms.

I started the antibiotics again yesterday when I noticed the returned symptoms. No watery noses today already, and no watery looking eyes, but still sneezing from a few.