1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

So, if I get a roo...

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Sleepy71, Nov 6, 2011.

1. Sleepy71

Sleepy71 Out Of The Brooder

Oct 25, 2011
    Jacksonville, FL
    Hi all,

I've been reading the forums about the usefulness Roosters bring to a flock. It has made me think real hard about adding one to my 6-hen flock. But, I am not ready for babies. We got the hens for eggs, not for babies. If I were to get a rooster, is he gonna be all over each of my hens, trying to fertilize them? And, if so, can I simply remove the eggs before they get incubated by the hens, and subsequently prevent the egg from developing? Sorry for the dumb questions, but I'm still very new at all this. What an addicting hobby! LOL

2. Terri O

Terri O Chillin' With My Peeps

The roo will probably pick his favorites and maybe make them bald on their backs. 6 hens are not much for a roo! If you are happy with your hens as they are there really is no need for a roo. If you free-range then he can maybe help keep them safe...I have several roos in my flock and I can honestly say that they are more interested in copulating that protecting! Maybe it is different if there is a small group of hens and one roo...I have no idea. (I love my roos for their beauty..but that is about it!) Good luck on your decision! Terri O
    ETA: Yes, you can pick up the eggs each day and will have no babies developing!

Last edited: Nov 6, 2011
  3. RhodeIslandRedFan

RhodeIslandRedFan Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 10, 2009
    Central PA