So I'm new to all this....

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by DarleneE, Mar 8, 2014.

1. DarleneE

DarleneE Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 9, 2014
    Riverview, Fla
    So this is my first time raising "pet" hens. My husband is building them their coop. They're (I have 2 hens) now 8 weeks old and will be going into the coop real soon. However I have no clue as to even what the terms roost, etc mean? What my husband and I seen as pictures of coops is what he's building. It has the big open run area for them, then has like a little "house" with a stick going in it for them to "sleep" in I guess.. then has the other enclosed area with the lift up roof and a divider in between for them to lay their eggs when they're older. Does this all sound right? Also can anyone please clarify for me what these different "areas" are called in "chicken" language?? Thanks SO much!!!!

Last edited: Mar 8, 2014
  2. KayTee

KayTee Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 21, 2012
    South West France
    Hi DarleneE. You've described a pretty good coop for your girls!

To give it the usual names - the open area is the run, the 'house' is the coop, and the little area with the lift up roof is the nest boxes, where they will lay their eggs. Usually the coop has roosting bars in, which are the bars that the chickens should sit on every night to sleep. Young chickens often want to continue sleeping in a nest box, rather than go on to the roost (especially if they don't have any older girls to show them where to sleep!)