1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

So. I'm new to roos and find myself with one...what about eggs??

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by 5isenough, Nov 22, 2010.

1. 5isenough

5isenough Out Of The Brooder

Oct 10, 2009
    One of my 9 hens turned out to be a roo at 24 weeks. Big surprise as I've never had a roo and am really ignorant. A friend says I will have to candle all my eggs. Is this true? I surely don't want to have a "peep omelet" for breakfast. I just don't know what to expect. Any help out there?

2. dsqard

dsqard Crazy "L" Farms

Jun 11, 2010
    York PA
    Nope the embryos won't start developing unless they get incubated. I have a rooster and you can't tell that the eggs are fertilized unless you look really close (do a search on fertilized egg pictures, there is a really good example on here somewhere). They taste the same as any other egg you get from your hens. You won't even notice.

3. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas
    Same taste, same nutrtitional value, same look (unless you look closely and know what you are looking for). All the eggs I get and sell are fertile.
    Just collect your eggs regularly and you'll have nothing to worry about.

4. magistradomina

magistradomina Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 6, 2010
    Where I live.
    HI! You don't have to worry about the taste or quality of your eggs if your rooster is with the hens. All that is different in the egg is that it will have a little black speck that is the embryo. The egg won't taste any different from an egg laid by a hen that doesn't have a rooster with her. BUT: If you let the hen sit on the egg for more than 5 days, you probably will have development in the egg.