So, um, chicken courtship

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Sphinx, Jun 22, 2010.

1. Sphinx

Sphinx Chillin' With My Peeps

May 10, 2010
    Utah
    I am totally new to chickens, and this is a new adventure.

I have 6 pullets and 2 cockerels. I have kept the boys separate from the girls because it seemed like the boys were so aggressive. However, as you all probably could've predicted, the larger cockerel is bullying the smaller one.

As an experiment, we put the smaller roo in with the pullets. He immediately began chasing the oldest pullet around, and was kind of biting on her neck. She thought this was a terrible idea and was trying to get as far from him as possible. The other pullets all agreed with her.

Is this normal "courtship" type behavior? What should I expect?

I put him back with the other roo because I had no idea if he was going to upset them too much, or if it was normal.

Feel free to laugh yourself sick over my questions. LOL

2. Happy Chooks

Happy Chooks Moderator Staff Member

Jul 9, 2009
    Northern CA
    My Coop
    No, not normal courtship. He's dealing with integration issues - he's trying to assert himself as leader and they're not going for it. There will be chasing until he works his way up the pecking order. My roo would get the crud beat out of him by the hens. (he's 9 months younger than they are) When he started mating, he started with the lowest female and worked his way up 1 hen at a time. After he finished mating them all, they accepted him as big man on campus and he began courting them with less roughness.

3. bibliophile birds

bibliophile birds Chillin' With My Peeps

don't feel bad. chicken romance isn't... delicate. it takes some getting used to.