So, what's more stressful (for YOU!). Too hot or too cold?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by libbyhan, Jul 8, 2010.

1. libbyhan

libbyhan Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2010
    I live in Massachusetts and we're having one heck of a heat wave. I'm new to chickens. My six 10-week old pullets are outside (free range in a fenced back yard) and they are HOT. Panting and hiding in the shade. We've been keeping them cool with the a kiddie pool filled with ice cold water (they are ignoring this) and lots of fresh water in their waterers. It's been stressful for us- worrying about them and watching for signs of heat stroke. They seem fine, though. They didn't go into the coop until almost 9:00 last night- it was still 85 at that point.

This am, I started thinking about how summer will be over before I know it and, SOON, we'll be able to enjoy hanging out with the chickies again- sitting in lawn chairs and just watching them frolic. Then, BAM. It hit me. WINTER!!!!!

We have our coop very close to the house and it has great wind protection. We are also close to an outlet, so we can provide some extra heat if needed. But, I can already see me stressing during those inevitible days of less-than-zero temps, snow drifts, ice storms. ARGHHTHT!!!!

So, what's more stressful? Keeping my chickies cool or warm? Thanks!

2. Pumpkinpup

Pumpkinpup Poultry Princess

Jul 16, 2008
    North-West Georgia
    Most certainly would have to be too cold! YUCK [​IMG]

3. elmo

elmo Chillin' With My Peeps

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    Unless you have one of the tiny bantam breeds, most chickens handle cold far better than they handle heat. After all, they come with down coats that they can't take off!

About the cold water in the kiddie pool: you might try water in a very shallow pan instead, something as shallow as a plant saucer or even an old cookie tray.

4. TurtleChick

TurtleChick Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 3, 2007
    Tacoma, WA