1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Socializing baby chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by lilrosc, Apr 8, 2011.

1. lilrosc

lilrosc Out Of The Brooder

Apr 8, 2011
    Northeast CT
    I am brand new to chickens, have ordered 6 from MPC. Other than coming 3 days early and currently living in a rat cage while we work on our brooder (4'x4'x2') they seem to be doing pretty well. I got a Dominque, Partridge Rock, Light Brown Leghorn, SLW, BO and Golden Campine, and so far, personalities seem to be very different, though how much can you tell at less than a week? Which I suppose is my question. Currently, the Dom is very friendly and when I stick my hand in the cage, she is the first to jump on and just hang out. She has hopped out of the cage on her own numerous times. The BO, PR and SLW are just rather chill chicks, who don;t mind having their butts cleaned and will hang out while being held. The Campine isn't sure of anything, but doesn't really complain much about being held, though jumps away quickly. The Leghorn, one would think that my hand was a snake. When I just hold it in the cage, she is curious and will peck at me, but at any movement she is off, running around and seeming freaked. She complains horribly when I hold her, and thankfully her butt hasn't caked up, because that would be impossible to clean I reckon.

So, my run down on chicks, the question is what do I do? They are a week old, do these personalities last or change completely after adolescents? I know leghorns and campines aren't known for being particularly friendly, and they were most purchased because the kids liked the look of them. Which probably isn't the greatest buying strategy, but I don't need all 6 particularly cuddly birds. Specially if the dom keeps up with this.