Some advice about feeding newly received chicks (After a journey through the mail)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chickerdoodle13, Dec 7, 2013.

1. Chickerdoodle13

Chickerdoodle13 The truth is out there...

Mar 5, 2007
    Phoenix, AZ
    I'm a student studying avian veterinary medicine right now and I'm a member of the school's poultry club. Today, we visited a small hatchery and I got to see how things work behind the scenes. The guy who ran the hatchery was mostly involved in the commercial business, but he had some helpful advice for backyard people. It was a great experience and I wanted to pass on some good information to you guys that didn't even occur to me!

He was mentioning mortality in shipped chicks at backyard farms. He said one of the biggest reasons chicks die at a week old is due to dehydration. During shipping before they have had a drink of water, their crop tends to dry up. When this happens, the crop becomes like a dry sponge and it can hurt to eat or drink, so the chicks will not eat or drink properly.

He mentioned a great way to prevent this is to feed your chicks wet (not soaking wet, but moistened) chick feed for the first day or two after they arrive. This will help rehydrate their crops so it is not difficult to eat and drink. He said most commercial farms do this for all their newly arrived chicks. Commercial chick mortality rate is also quite low in most farms, especially egg layer farms. A lot of it is because the farms have things like heat, bedding, etc down to a science to cut out monetary losses.