some advice

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by aldernay, Jun 20, 2011.

1. aldernay

aldernay Out Of The Brooder

Jun 5, 2011
    Hi am am new to all this. I said hello as a new member on the 6th June and got a lovely welcome.

Before I got my two hens I ordered a flat packed coop and run and put it up and was so distressed to see it was tiny (it was advertised as suitable for 6 hens, it barely fitted my two!) so have spent the last two weeks constructing a large enclosure from pallets and chicken wire. They are much happier now (Ethel and Tallulah). [​IMG]

My question is that I would like to get another hen to make the number three and would like to get a big hen - is there a problem with them mixing and could anyone suggest a breed?

I am really new to this and this site is brilliant but it is a bit overwhelming with its sheer size!

Im based in Co Wicklow in Ireland and Im guessing the breeds availabel may be a bit different than in the US?!

Thanks in advance

2. Rainbow Dash

Rainbow Dash Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2011
    Antarctica
    Welcome! [​IMG]

Most chickens will mix together fine, but what breeds do you keep? Some breeds may be more aggressive to others. When you also get new chickens, be sure to quarantine them for a month to be sure that they to not have any dangerous diseases. Also, when the chickens are introduced, they will peck at each other. This is normal, they are only establishing their pecking order. Here's a link for more info:
    https://www.backyardchickens.com/web/viewblog.php?id=2593-adding-to-your-flock

3. aldernay

Jun 5, 2011
    Thank you for your reply. This sounds really ignorant of me but I have on RIR and a similar sized white girl. She is pure white, I have forgotten her breed in the excitment of getting them - I got a bit carried away. I had waited a long time to get them! I was thinking of a Jersey Giant?? But I dont know much about them or whether they mix.

4. Rainbow Dash

Jun 15, 2011
    Antarctica