Some bleeding around the toe nail

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Tacswa3, Jan 23, 2014.

1. Tacswa3

Tacswa3 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 16, 2013
    MD
    3 days ago I noticed a small amount of blood around the nail of one of my RIR. After some aggravation I was finally able to catch her and apply some Blu-kote. I did see another hen try and peck the blood.

Today I noticed some more bleeding. From what I can tell its the same wound and it may have opened up again. Appears to be where the nail meets the toe. (Right around the base)

All my reading (I'm a newbie) says blu-kote is good to use to prevent pecking and aid in healing. Now I just some posts where it shouldn't be used in food producing animals.

It is a real chore catching her to try and treat her. I don't know if she is causing the injury or others??

Any recommendations on what to use to seal this wound up before it gets worse? I really don't have the means to separate her at this point.

2. Judy

Judy Moderator Staff Member

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    BluKote is widely used here despite that warning. I use it myself, although I haven't needed to often.

Do you perhaps have wire floors? If not, maybe she is re-injuring it in the course o ordinary foraging, and will need a few days of confinement.

3. Tacswa3

Dec 16, 2013
    MD
    No, no wire floor(s). I'm probably not gonna be able to apply more blukote on her til Saturday when I have some help. She is hard to catch and once I catch her I need some hands to apply treatment. Problem is whats gonna happen to her from now til Saturday.....

4. Judy

Feb 5, 2009
    South Georgia
    Can you go in the coop after dark and sneak it onto her?

5. Tacswa3

Dec 16, 2013
    MD