Some one education me on satins silkies please!

Jeskka1819

In the Brooder
Sep 12, 2020
Hi guys I’m new here, I’ve been raising backyard chickens for 2 years now and just added a couple breeds I have been wanting for a while. I of course fell in love with silkies and I really would like to know if satin silkies. I know they are but a actual breed but I’m wandering how people get the satin look with breeding silkies. Is there a certain breed of chicken you need? I have polish, Cochin frizzles, silkies, Seramas and golden spangled appenzellers. Some please educate my confused mind right now :)

Jeskka1819

In the Brooder
Sep 12, 2020
:welcome They are cross bred birds. You can make whatever cross appeals to you. Silky/Cochin crosses to me are especially and are great broody hens.
I can see how those would be beautiful birds. I love the Batam Cochins. Have you ever seen a polish/ silkie or golden spangled appenzeller? She is below. She has some frizzle in her genetics somewhere just haven’t incubated any eggs yet. I normally just stick with the serama for breeding when I want a new hen. I think her color is so vibrant and silky smooth

Attachments

BennyGreb

In the Brooder
Oct 8, 2020
Hi guys I’m new here, I’ve been raising backyard chickens for 2 years now and just added a couple breeds I have been wanting for a while. I of course fell in love with silkies and I really would like to know if satin silkies. I know they are but a actual breed but I’m wandering how people get the satin look with breeding silkies. Is there a certain breed of chicken you need? I have polish, Cochin frizzles, silkies, Seramas and golden spangled appenzellers. Some please educate my confused mind right now :)