Something attacked my silkies, help???

offtheleash

In the Brooder
5 Years
Feb 4, 2014
I had 3 silkies, 2 hens and a rooster. I've had them for one month.

We live on 3 acres of land which is surrounded by woods on all sides.

Their coop is 200 ft from the house on the edge of the woods. In the past week they've been coming to the house, hanging around our shed and patio. They've been free ranging all day, which I felt uneasy about, but they were very happy.

Yesterday we were inside, we do have a house dog too, for 2 hours. When we came out one of the hens was dead on the patio, head gone, back eaten, 10 ft from house.

Rooster was also gone, but at dusk he came out, he'd been hiding in an old doghouse on other side of house. Thank goodness he's safe!

My other hen also went broody yesterday on an egg, so she's safe also.

My questions are what predator does it sound like did this and since she's broody and his favorite hen is gone, how's it going to be for him?

I'm new at this, and cried for hours last night, but know it's a process in starting a new homestead.

Thanks for any advice!

Owls and hawks eat the heads. The forest edge is dangerous. Birds of prey wait in the trees and swoop down to surprise the chickens.

I am sorry for your loss. I have had losses too from hawks and owls. They are federally protected so all you can do is hang up some netting.

I do keep my silkies under 2 inch heavy knotted netting (hang for snow load). They don't do so well free range as they can't fly/have vision impairment from crest. They crave security and won't mind if you pen them up under some netting. I love my silkies. I hope you can hatch some babies out under your broody.

Generally silkie roosters do fine with 5 hens. For large fowl roosters 10 hens is best to avoid overbreeding. However, you may be OK with just your cock/hen.