Something crawly on the chicken's vent...

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Katiedid, Jan 11, 2013.

1. Katiedid

Katiedid Out Of The Brooder

Nov 26, 2011
    I think they have lice or mites. Small, fast moving brown bugs on one of the chickens vents. None observed else where. I checked because she's in a partial molt and this seemed like an odd time for that. None of the other birds seemed to have anything, though two had broken feathers near their vents. This is my first year doing the deep liter method and I can't help but feel I did something wrong. Anyway, I'll obviously clean their coop entirely tomorrow. I've done a bunch of websearches on getting rid of lice or mites and there are a broad range of opinions. I coated the poor thing with DE and sent her to bed. Then I coated all the other hens bottoms in DE. What are your opinions? This is my second year keeping chickens so I'm still pretty new. I'm not too concerned about eating eggs right now, and since the problem seems to be relatively minor at this point, I'd like to get it fixed ASAP and move on. I'm not a huge fan of chemicals, but Id rather use them if they are safe and fix the problem than spend a lot of time on remedies that don't work. We're in a cold snap so I don't want to do anything involving bathing right now.

Thanks for your help!

Last edited: Jan 11, 2013
  2. willowbranchfarm

willowbranchfarm Chicken Boots

Oct 3, 2011
    Virginia
    My Coop
    Sounds like your on the right track. Just make sure to clean the whole coop and dust all the chickens.

3. Katiedid

Nov 26, 2011
    Do I dust with DE or Sevin? I don't think she's near death or anything, but I don't like the idea of animals suffering out of human laziness. (Or, in my case, ignorance.) Do I clean the coop with bleach or a chemical solution or just plain old water?

Thanks again.

4. Nutcase

Nutcase Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 2, 2012
    Australia
    My Coop