Soo confused

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Jerseycoop, Jun 10, 2011.

1. Jerseycoop

Jerseycoop Chillin' With My Peeps

May 13, 2011
    New Jersey
    Hi I'm new to raising chickens. I have 3 RIR's 3 light Brahma's and an EE. I've been reading about samonella outbreaks, worms etc that affect chickens and it worries me. [​IMG] I was told my chicks were vaccinated at the hatchery before Agway received them. I do know they came out of Texas..I'm here in NJ. I'm not sure what the hatchery vaccinated them for [​IMG] Are there vaccinations I need to continue or do for my chicks? If they're fine let them be? And if I did have to vaccinate where would I go for the meds? someone please help [​IMG]

2. TeamChaos

TeamChaos Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2009
    Can you call Agway and find out what hatchery they are from? Most chicks are vaccinated against Marek's but beyond that, I'm not sure... I think the hatchery's webpage would detail what the standard shots are. I've never vaccinated my flock, but I am new to chickens.

3. ladybug99

ladybug99 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 10, 2010
    Monroe New Jersey
    Hello I am from NJ toooo.... I don't get my chicks from Agway.... but I know that the one here (Englishtown) gets thier chicks and ducklings from Ideal Hatchery. They are vaccinated againt Mereks and I believe cocci but I am not sure. If you keep your coop clean and tidy you should not have to many problems. I haven't had any issues with worms or mites. I think that worms are something you just can't help sometimes... my chickies will eat anything they find. I don't know of any other vaccinations you would need, I would leave them be. My Agway has all the medications you would need.. you might have to ask for them sometimes. This is a great place to get information and help [​IMG]

Where are you in NJ?????

Last edited: Jun 10, 2011
  4. teach1rusl

teach1rusl Love My Chickens