SoS I think my new duckling is pulling out its own feathers??

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by UrbanBlueShamrock, Jun 10, 2011.

1. UrbanBlueShamrock

UrbanBlueShamrock Out Of The Brooder

Jun 10, 2011
    Berkeley Springs
    Hi Im brand new to the poultry world and have a pressing question. I received my ducklings in the mail on Wed. they were not shipped within the proper time frame and were almost a week old when I got them. Other than 2 dead on arrival and a few signs of feather picking they all seemed fine. However its 2 days later and the largest duckling is missing a huge amount of "feathers" its back is almost bald Ive been watching them and havent seen any signs of aggression but obviously im not there all the time he also sleeps alone a lot in comparison to the large ball of down that is the others. He also seems to be damp? and is messing with his back alot I cant tell if hes scratching pulling out feathers or what. Im really worried about him. Any ideas of what may be going on? Is this a common thing? Thanks for any and all help!!!

2. ksmith

ksmith Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2010
    Nor Cal
    hmmm, I am not very sure but I will try to help you out anyway. First off, is there anything in the cage that can irratite his skin? Do you keep the bedding dry? The only thing I can think of is maybe he is having an allergic reaction to the bedding. Or the others are picking on him. Sorry I am not much help!

3. UrbanBlueShamrock

UrbanBlueShamrock Out Of The Brooder

Jun 10, 2011
    Berkeley Springs