Sour crop help, please

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by chickenmad222, Jan 27, 2013.

1. chickenmad222

chickenmad222 New Egg

Jan 27, 2013
    Staffordshire UK
    I am in need of some advice. I have read up on ways in which to cure sour crop but what I need to know is do I need to take all food and drink away from her for the first 24 hours to let the crop go down or not?

Any advice great fully appreciated ty

2. Shan30

Shan30 Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 17, 2012
    Vancouver island
    I'm sorry to hear about your chicken.

Unfortunately I have no first hand experience with this.
    Personally, I wouldn't withhold water at all. I would isolate
    and try yoghurt(active culture plain) to start.

I hope someone with some experience with this chimes
    in for you.

Good luck!

3. pwand

pwand Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 10, 2007
    BC Canada
    I'm probably dealing with this myself. Take the food away for 24hrs and see if her crop goes down by the morning. If it is mushy and not flat, your most likely dealing with sour crop. Sometimes you can smell it at her beak. Give her water, I put apple cider vinegar in the water which is unfiltered and unpasteurized. You get it from the organic section in the store. Put 1 tbsp to 4 litters of water or 1 gallon. Have that available at all times. Make sure as well she has been dewormed. I did mine yesturday a she passed small 1/2 inch worms. Today she seems to be going down hill. She also has bad diarrhrea. I can't get her to eat and not drinking much. Massage her crop as well. There is great info on this forum. I search it and found lots of good info.

4. Keggen

Keggen Chillin' With My Peeps

May 24, 2012
    Minnesota
    I need help with this right now, too. I have been reading about sour crop and impacted crop but there is so much advice I just feel overwhelmed.