SOUR CROP??? Please HELP!!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by GAFarmGirl87, Aug 15, 2013.

1. GAFarmGirl87

GAFarmGirl87 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2013
    NW Georgia
    My chickens are about 7 months old. A couple of weeks ago I noticed one of my hens had a large breast that hung down. I didn't think anything of it at first, I thought she was just a little overweight. I'm a newbie, so I didn't think it was serious. Anyway, I finally called a fellow chicken-keeper, and she told me it sounded like a crop issue. After checking on Google, I've determined it's sour crop, based on the fact the mass in her crop is squishy & she has a foul odor.

Other symptoms include lethargy, strange head movements, and the fact she stays laid down whenever the rooster mounts her.
    My chickens have a large run, and I hardly every let them out to free range, except for an hour in the evenings a couple times a month. I don't feed them grass clippings. They get their layer feed, plus scratch & some fresh fruits & veggies. They also have sand in their run when they use as grit. I'm not sure how this happened.

After researching this, my initial plan is to separate her from the flock, withhold food for 24 hours, and feed her ACV water with a dropper. Then, massage the crop and attempt to get her to vomit.

Please, can someone please tell me if this is a good plan, and if not, what should I do instead?? I can't afford to take her to the vet or buy expensive medicines. I can only do natural remedies to help her. I don't want to see her suffer.

Advice please!!!

2. Veer67

Veer67 Chillin' With My Peeps

3. happyhens1972

happyhens1972 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 24, 2013