Sour or doughy crop in my hen? HELP

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by AlphaLupa, Nov 22, 2016.

1. AlphaLupa

AlphaLupa New Egg

Nov 22, 2016
    Brutus, Michigan
    I think my hen has sour crop. What should I do? I made sure she has fresh grit and a little ACV [​IMG]
    in her water, but how much probiotic or oil should I give her? This is my first time with chickens and my prized girl. It is very very doughy, about the size of a tennis ball and I can knead it into a shape and it stays that way. I don't know if I should try to make her vomit or follow the recipe for doughy crop on this site. I'm very concerned.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2016
  2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Do you have a vet who knows chickens? There are several good threads about crop impaction that can lead to sour crop. Oil can make things worse, but water given orally to flush out the crop, and then massage several times a day can help. Certain conditions or diseases can cause the crop to stop functioning normally. How long have you noticed this? Always check the crop early in the morning at daylight before the chicken has eaten or drunk water to make sure it is flat. The crop should be full at evening after eating all day long. Will she take water for you? Give a bit of probiotic plain yogurt daily, and stop solid food until the crop starts to go down. Add vitamins and electrolytes to her water. If there is a real problem, tube feeding water may help to flush out the blockage. Read some of the threads and posts here on BYC about crop impaction by Two Crows and others. Casportpony has a good thread called "go team tube feeding" to teach those who want to learn about tube feeding. Some chickens who are piggy eaters may experience a huge crop from chronic overeating. Keep posting here for more help.

3. AlphaLupa

AlphaLupa New Egg

Nov 22, 2016
    Brutus, Michigan