South Louisiana Hannah

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by HannahB, Feb 1, 2014.

1. HannahB

HannahB New Egg

Feb 1, 2014
    Hello everyone on Backyard Chickens! Boy, I sure am glad to have found this website. My name is Hannah, and I am thinking of keeping a few chickens around. Here are my answers to the suggested questions to answer when introducing yourself here on this site.

(1) I am new to chickens. I don't have any yet, because I would like to be as educated as possible on the caring of chickens before getting my hands way too full.

(2) I do not have any chickens right now, but I am looking to buy some soon. I asked my husband to buy me some chickens for my birthday which is in a few days. He said find out everything we will need to have and do and we can get some. :)

(3) No breeds yet, but I have looked at this website some already before joining and am thinking of getting some Barred Rock chickens, or the Rhode Island Reds. I want hens only, just for making eggs, I do not plan to eat any chickens (I'm too close to my pets, and so is my husband!)

(4) I googled "How to care for chickens" and this website came up. I haven't gone anywhere else because this site is answering all my questions!

(5) My hobbies outside of family care are reading and cooking. Cajun meals are my favorite (etoufee's, rice and gravy, gumbo, etc.)