1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Soy-free Poultry Feed

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by flyingdragon, Nov 24, 2009.

1. flyingdragon

flyingdragon Out Of The Brooder

Nov 22, 2009
    I have 25 barred rocks (9 weeks old) that I am raising for meat. I may keep 3-5 hens for eggs. My question is why don't the feed producers label the content of their products clearly. Grain products and bakery by-products. What are these. I am new to chickens and thought raising my own would be healthier. I've been reading about the soy in animal feeds lingering in the meat and eggs. Is this true? How can you tell what's really in poultry feed? Doesn't soy act like a hormone?

2. cassie

cassie Overrun With Chickens

Mar 19, 2009
    Soy is used to increase the protein in feed rations. The oil meals most commonly used for that purpose are soy, linseed, and cottonseed. Which one is used is determined by price and availability. The oil meals run about 44% protein if memory serves. Soy is an excellent feed.

3. the simple life

the simple life Chillin' With My Peeps

I have heard of soy not being good for us, it affects your thyroid among other things but I had not yet heard about it lingering in the meat and eggs, it never occured to me.
    Has there been a study done on it?
    I am thinking there probably is not much else you can use to get the protein into the feed if you want to avoid meat byproducts.

4. jaku

jaku Chillin' With My Peeps

I have heard of soy in this capacity only as a THEORY. According to my doctor, (I have thyroid issues,) soy isn't a factor, at least not a medically proven one, and if that, not a major one. As for the labelling of animal feed, good luck getting a company to do anything beyond what the government requires of them!