Sparrows in the chicken coop. Is this a problem?

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by ldutch123, Nov 24, 2011.

1. ldutch123

ldutch123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2011
    Illinois
    It is getting colder out and I noticed every time I go into the coop there are a ton of sparrows flying around in there. I assume they a eating the chicken feed but I don't know if this is a problem or if it is bothersome to the chickens? Can these birds cause larger problems like disease or anything. I'm new to chickens and I get a little worried about all the small things. I would rather prepare and prevent than treat and possibly lose some of my chickens.

2. S.L.Swope

S.L.Swope Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 13, 2011
    San Antonio
    Not %100 sure but I believe disease would definitely be something to worry about. Is the coop run area covered? Maybe put bird netting over area to keep them out.

3. Mattemma

Mattemma Overrun With Chickens

Aug 12, 2009
    Yes the poo and the bugs on them are deposited in the coop.Try putting some bird netting up .I have a tarp over the door,and leave the bottom open. I also ran deer netting over the top.Consider getting a repeating sprarrow trap.It is about $50 from a guy in Texas.Or make your own. It works good.Check often though for native birds, chipmunks,and mice.

4. ldutch123

ldutch123 Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2011
    Illinois
    Oh no. I was worried about this. What do u do to the chickens entry door? They come in through there and through some small openings in the coop. We r gonna have to do some serious work to keep these little brats out

5. nuchickontheblock

nuchickontheblock Chillin' With My Peeps

May 16, 2010
    south portland, maine