Speckled Brown Egg?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by jetto, Dec 21, 2009.

1. jetto

jetto Out Of The Brooder

Jun 15, 2009
    Huron County, Ohio
    I'm new to chickens. Our pullets are about 20 weeks old. One golden buff, one Jersey Giant and two Plymouth Barred Rocks.

Our Golden Buff started laying on December 5th. I'm figuring it was her based on her doing the squat thing and going in and out of the nest box alot. She laid a small egg first day, skipped a day, then laid a medium egg. Next day laid a soft shelled egg- interesting. Skipped a day and then laid 9 days in a row- a medium light brown egg each day.

And I know it was her because on occasion I'd go to check and she was the one on the nest. And still squatting when I'd walk in the pen.

On December 19 I got a medium darker brown egg with some brown speckles on it. I thought hmmmmm.

On December 20th I got a HUGE Extra Large Double-yoked egg. No speckles. Today I got a HUGER Extra Large egg- no speckles. Same lighter brown color the Golden Buff had been laying but MUCH MUCH bigger. Like she skipped laying any LARGES and went right to EXTRA or JUMBO.

None of the other girls are doing the squat although their combs do seem redder than what they were. I've seen them all go in and out of the nest box on occasion but no one actually sitting in there like I saw the Golden Buff. I'm in Ohio- it's cold and snowy here but they are under lights 14 hours a day and getting Layena, high protein treats and some gamebird feed for scratching in. Also free choice grit and oyster shell which they all get into on occasion.