Speckled Sussex stopped laying - is this normal?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Imprfctme, Dec 4, 2011.

1. Imprfctme

Imprfctme Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 27, 2011
    Denton County, TX
    Hi, I'm new to this chicken thing, and I have four hens, a Delaware (Ruthie), White Rock (J. Lo), Easter Egger (Gallena) and a Speckled Sussex (Perry Katie). All of them started laying in Oct except for P.K. who waited until November. She lays the most beautiful freckled eggs, not that that's relevant, but she recently seems to have stopped laying, we haven't gotten an egg from her for two weeks now. She seems fine health wise, eating normally, energetic as ever and I looke at the outside of her vent and it seemed normal and pink. She isn't molting either.

Is this just Something particular to this breed? Are they more light sensitive than others? Or is she laying plain eggs now and I'm being tricked? I don't mind if I get just one or two eggs from her all winter, I just want to make sure she's healthy. She did lay a shell-less egg when she was first starting, or at least I'm pretty sure that was her. P.K. and Ruthie are my sweethearts, there is such a difference in their behavior compared to the other two. Any feedback much appreciated, thanks!

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

The Speckled Sussex vary by strain, just like all breeds. I can only comment on the ones we've had. Yes, the egg is sometimes smooth, creamy in color, not huge in size. Perhaps she is still laying but her egg may look different as she matures and dependent upon what she eats and how she processes.

That said, our SS were known for taking winter off. They are typed in the "fair to good" layer category by most bird folks and hatcheries. That means 220-230 eggs per year. They are large bodied fowl. At 230 eggs per year, that leaves 145 days, or a total of over 20 weeks combined when they do not lay. Those days won't be consecutive, of course.