Squatting/ What exactly am I looking for?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by M.sue, Jul 25, 2011.

1. M.sue

M.sue Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2011
    Michigan
    What is it that I am looking for? [​IMG] My girls will be 16 wk. on Wed. that were purchased from TSC. I have 4 (Isa Browns) that I purchased the same day but from an independent seller. Those 4 I believe were approx. a week older. What should I be looking for in the so called squatting? I've noticed a few of the Isa Browns and a couple of the Buff Orpingtons standing with their wings out from their bodies. I assumed they were cooling off for we've had some really hot weather. Is this related to them squatting or preparing to squat? I don't know I'm new to this even though I grew up around chickens.......Grandpa was the chicken guy, I just chased them and feed them. A good description would be appreciated.

2. ChicKat

ChicKat Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

The hen will stop, flatten herself close to the ground and move her wings out to the side a little.

When you say they have their wings away from their bodies---that is one way they try to be cooler, and if they are panting at the same time, you know it is heat related. Remember, chickens cannot sweat so this is a cooling method for them. When mine pant, they are standing very tall.

The other behavior is crouching low to the ground and flattening. You will know it when you see it.

Last edited: Jul 25, 2011
  3. M.sue

May 29, 2011
    Michigan
    Thanks for the info. I know now what to look for. My girls are just keeping cool as I thought.
    Quote:

4. Rustywreck

Rustywreck Chillin' With My Peeps

I don't know if it is universal or not, but my hens do a little tap dance as they start to squat.

5. sixty7x

sixty7x Out Of The Brooder

Dec 12, 2010
    Warwick RI