Staggered Hatch Advice

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Sunnyducks, Sep 20, 2016.

1. Sunnyducks

Sunnyducks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 1, 2016
    Hoping you knowledgeable people may have some advice for me, but I realise you may think I'm a lost cause - had been looking out for a particular breed of hen for a while, then I found someone who had eggs. Was invited along, she fetched the eggs, didn't want anything for them, then explained they 'may' have been under a broody hen, that they could be anything from 5 days to newly laid, and 'some' should be the breed I was after. I know, I should have said no, but I was too timid. So now I have a problem, as from candling them I can see they must indeed have been under a broody hen as they are at different stages including a couple of eggs with wriggling embryos. I wish I'd had the courage to walk away, because I don't know how to deal with the problem I now have on my hands. Trouble is that I'm not good at standing up for myself! Thank you in advance.

2. Sunnyducks

May 1, 2016
    Apologies, @AmyLynn2374
    @BaileyMChicks

I apologise, I didn't see your post when I started a new thread! I'm really interested, as I have a very similar problem except I have 22 eggs, and 4 possible breeds, all indistinguishable except I clearly have at least one bantam among them. Best of luck with your hatch, @BaileyMChicks

3. BaileyMChicks

BaileyMChicks Chillin' With My Peeps

May 8, 2015
    Wisconsin
    It's fine! I hope your hatch goes good as well. I really don't like staggered hatches either, but I wasn't going to let the embryos die. I just hope it goes ok. I worry alot as well, so this is actually quite stressful lol.

4. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY