Staggered incubation

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Lovie, Mar 15, 2017.

1. Lovie

Lovie Out Of The Brooder

Mar 4, 2017
    Does anyone have luck with staggered hatches? I am a newbie and do not want to stagger but only have one peahen. If I save up eggs and then begin the 28 day incubation, I don't want any eggs in the meantime to be wasted and 28 days would be to long to save them. Thank you for any ideas or input

2. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD
    So you're using an incubator, correct? I find staggering is easiest if you have two incubators. I do the same with my guineas and set eggs every ten days and that seems to be a good rotation. They also have a 28 day incubation period. Of course, guinea eggs are much smaller. Does the penhen lay every day? Because then you would need it to hold up to 28 eggs and I assume they are much larger than chicken eggs. Are you going to use an automatic turner or turn by hand? That makes a difference as far as how many it can hold.

3. Lovie

Lovie Out Of The Brooder

Mar 4, 2017
    My peahen has not started laying this season so I was trying to get my ducks in a row so to speak, lol. They lay every 2-3 days if I understand correctly. I would like to use an egg turner but am unsure if they would fit appropriately. I have considered two incubators, I just don't want to jump head first into this and be out a million, but it might be a little late for that

4. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD