start with baby chicks or adult birds?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by birdbrain5, Aug 16, 2010.

1. birdbrain5

birdbrain5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2010
    ok so i dont know what to do, i have 5 chickens i got at an auction, im no expert and they were young and now i have 3 roo's and 2 hens. i plan to keep one roo and both hens, and take the other 2 roos back to the auction. my question is, should i get more adolescent/adult chickens, or should i just get some pullet chicks from tractor supply? the only reason i didnt go that route from the begining is because i thought chicks would be alot more work, and wait. i have 2 dogs and 2 cats and didnt want to see anyone get eaten. now i have an empty hutch they could go in until they are big enough to put with the others.
    to help me decide, can you tell me if i got chicks, about how long of a wait do i have until i can put them in with my other chickens? and how long until they will start laying? i know this depends on breed, and i honestly dont know what they have at tractor supply right now, so just a rough idea is ok. also, is this an alright time of year to get young chicks? im in NC so i dont have too bad of a winter coming.. but we have had some real heat lately.
    and is there any reasons people dont just get adult chickens to begin with, other than having to quarantine them, or not knowing exactly how old they are? i dont plan to eat my birds, just want the eggs.
    thanks!

Last edited: Aug 16, 2010
  2. swordgeek

swordgeek Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2010
    Westford, MA