Started Pullet Prices.

Discussion in 'Chicken Breeders & Hatcheries' started by mchandler, Mar 23, 2011.

1. mchandler

mchandler New Egg

Mar 15, 2011
    So I'm new to this whole chicken thing and have been doing a lot of research. I'm getting close to the point where I am ready to buy and have been researching prices. I am interested in White Leghorns and Red Stars for their excellent egg production abilities and that way I can get some brown and white eggs. I wanted to purchase ones that are almost ready to lay, and have been looking at Murry and McMurry. The prices are good but shipping is crazy! about $108 for 8 birds but shipping was $165! Wowzers! Anyone have any hits or good places to get some reasonable prices, or is this what I am in for. Since I was looking for these types of birds I feel like I am narrowing my options?

Thanks,
    Matt

2. Mystic Farms

Mystic Farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 5, 2011
    Check the chickenstock page on here for swaps in your area, you will usually find your best options/prices there you can also try your local craigslist!! $12-15 for 4-6 mos is the norm in my area, ne fl but each area is different. I know I've read on here of folks having a hard time getting $5 each in some places.

3. schellie69

schellie69 Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 8, 2009
    Kansas
    Check the local paper CL and feed store boards, I got pullets for $6 a piece. Good luck you might have to look for while since you have breeds picked out I just got what the farmer had.

4. hennyannie

hennyannie Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 12, 2011
    North Carolina
    I got some redstar local for 6$. A friend and I got 35, but they didnt charge that much more for small orders.

5. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

Agreed. Don't like started pullets with beaks cut, which most hatcheries do!