Started with 29...End Up with 8 Overnight

faberge_legs

Hatching
Jun 1, 2020
Well, as you can read from the title, I've lost over 70% of my baby chicks overnight. I'm very distraught as this is my first time raising and handling them, and everything was going smoothly for the first 6 weeks up until their disappearance. We live in the suburbs of Northern California, very close to a business district.

They were about the size of an African Grey parrot. One was very attached to me and always came running towards me, letting me hold and pet it whenever I came out to feed and change water for them.

The coop itself is very secure, structurally. We have a fence inside the coop where we separate the adult chickens from the chicks. The adult chickens are fine and none are missing.

I am not sure which predator was able to:

1) Dig a small hole
2) Jump a 4 ft fence inside the coop
3) Steal 20 chicks with no trace

We have cats and snakes out here, but what kind of predator is able to grab all 20 parrot-sized chicks and run off successfully? Ideally I hope maybe they've just decided to escape and walk away, but that seems unlikely. As far as I'm aware, we do not have foxes, minks, or weasels out here.

Have any neighbors that can get into the coop? Just seems strange the round number. No blood either so I would think that many may be they got stolen. Those 8 may just be the ones they could not grab. 20 just seems like alot to lose in one night to a single animal without any signs.

Last edited: