Starting a garden

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by lcountry, May 13, 2007.

1. lcountry

lcountry Out Of The Brooder

May 11, 2007
    Hi there! I'm new to chickens and think they are great! It just may be love!

I've had a brain storm, and I wonder if my idea will work... Next fall or spring, I was planning to dig up a grassy area and start a garden. Then I got my chickens and started reading...that's where the idea came from.

Since I want all the grass killed off in the garden area, I was thinking of putting my chickens in the soon-to-be garden area. My thought is that they will eventually eat all the grass and weeds thus clearing it off for me. Plus, they will be little fertilizers getting the soil prepped. Then viola! Next spring, I'm set to go with my garden area.

Will this work or am I missing something? As of now, it seems it might be "too good to be true".

Thanks for any thoughts!

Lisa

2. CarriBrown

CarriBrown Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Welcome to the forum!

Yes, that would probably work very well. Chickens love to scratch and turn dirt while eating grass, weeds, seeds and bugs. And of course, we all know they poop!!!
    Another bonus- You won't have to use poisons in your garden to kill the grass. [​IMG]

3. SandraChick

SandraChick Chillin' With My Peeps

My chickens free range, so it wasn't going to work to have them actually clear the garden.....but I rototill the area and they go nuts over the fresh worms and scractch through it all the time--keeping it mostly free of plants.

I also just throw all my composting stuff out there daily....chickens pick through what they like and scratch into the soil what they don't. So now I have a cleared area with "compost" already mixed in along with chicken poop as fertilizer. I also take the chicken coop shavings and till those into the garden in the fall so the "fertilizer" won't be too strong on the roots. The coop shavings are really "strong" when you first take them out.