starting out suggestions/ideas.....

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by CountrySass20, Mar 14, 2015.

1. CountrySass20

CountrySass20 New Egg

Mar 13, 2015
    Tx
    Hi ladies I am a newbie...I am hoping to purchase some chicks within the next couple of weeks. I am wondering if y'all have any insight/pointers on things for people starting out on raising chicks. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks :)

2. chooks4life

chooks4life Overrun With Chickens

Apr 8, 2013
    Australia
    Well, this is not the normal advice, but personally I don't use medicated feed, I use raw garlic instead to prevent coccidiosis. Unlike when using medicated feed, there haven't been any losses to cocci when using garlic as prevention.

Their very first feed has a few cloves of finely minced raw garlic, the fresher the better. From there I can give it to them once a week or so and it's sufficient, never seen a case of coccidiosis throughout all the years of feeding chooks garlic to prevent it. A zero percent mortality rate to disease in chicks year after year after year must be worth something I reckon. :)

I would raise them outdoors myself, if possible, again that's not the normal advice, but I believe they grow better in real sunlight on real dirt and it gives them healthier immune systems. They certainly look better raised that way, in my experience. Synthetic vitamin D in the diet doesn't quite make up for no real sunshine. It does depend on what your circumstances are like, if it's frozen outside that's not necessarily going to work for you.

Unfortunately animal proteins are being phased out of chicken feed in a lot of places and I don't believe they do as well on purely vegan diets, the results speak for themselves. So farming insects for them may be worth looking into, or providing other sources of animal proteins, unless you're happy to raise them vegan which I think is biologically inappropriate. But that is just my opinion and your chooks, your call. ;)