1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Starting with button quail chicks?

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Kitei, Nov 22, 2012.

1. Kitei

Kitei Out Of The Brooder

Jul 9, 2012
    I ended up buying 10 of them yesterday. They're 2 weeks old currently, and as it's my first time having quail chicks of any age, I was hoping people could give me some advice on how to care for them.

They're currently in a spacious cage in a -larrge- cupboard with a heat lamp - door can be kept open or closed if it's cold, and they have room to move away from the lamp if they get hot, so that's alright. (They're also in my room, like the rest of my birds XD).

What I'd really like advice on is feeding - they're currently on chicken starter, until the mill delivers our game bird starter (Shouldn't be more than a few days) so what can I do to improve the protein amount in their diet until it arrives? As a note, they do have crushed eggshell mixed in at the moment, too.

Also, at what age should I be looking to split up depending on sex, and can males be kept in same-sex pairs away from the hens until they're old enough to sell on or pair up, depending on what I choose to do with them? I could, if need be, put males in cages in the shed, which is where the Japanese are, but it'd be a lot easier if they didn't have to be single birds, for space reasons.

What age should I be swapping their food over to the normal mix? My adult birds eat a mixture of layers pellets, aviary bird food, sometimes the smaller bits of corn and occasional treats of cucumber and mealworms, as well as grit, oyster shell and crushed eggshell.