Still a newbie!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Peeps20, Jul 17, 2011.

1. Peeps20

Peeps20 New Egg

Jul 4, 2009
    We joined almost 3 years ago, but are kind of shy and haven't made any posts.[​IMG] We found BYC while looking for help in building a chicken coup. We have spent a lot of time reading posts, however and have learned a lot. [​IMG] We are the #6 on the Be a Good BYC Citizens list! Ha!
    Anyway, the third grade teacher at school hatched chicks in her classroom, from which came our first four chicks. Two cochins and two bantams, at least we think that’s what they are. They came home that June to a house with two German shepherd mix dogs and three cats. Two of our three college age students were still at home too. I am a music teacher and my husband works for a museum on a historic replica ship. We loved those chicks, Emma, Nellie, Coach and Twilight who was named by the 3rd grade teacher. We’d sit for hours just watching them in the yard. Unfortunately, Coach and Twi got inside the fenced in backyard and one of the dogs got Coach. Luckily, the cats have no interest in the chickens. The girls have been good layers; Twi is the broody one so we decided to get a rooster, his name is Buster. He is big red bird with shimmery black tail feathers, who comes when you call is name. We don’t actually know his breed. With the help of all the “girls” we hatched 11 of 16 eggs that next June. We kept 3 of the babies. Didn’t know at the time they were 2 hens and a rooster who now looks like his dad just slightly bigger. They had been free range, but a hawk got Emma earlier this year so we built an aviary to keep the 7 remaining birds safe. Just a week ago, the first one of 5 eggs hatched. Right now Nellie and all the chicks are in the big dog crate, but I foresee more building in our future.