still air incubator temp/humidity spikes

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Dogolady, May 1, 2016.

1. Dogolady

Dogolady Out Of The Brooder

Apr 27, 2016
    I have a still air LG digital thermostat incubator and every time a chick hatches in there, if i don't remove it right away the temp will spike to almost 110 and humidity to 85+. Everything i read says to leave chicks in there for 24-36 hrs but i have not been able to do so with any of my hatches without the temp skyrocketing. Is there any way around this? Or do you just have to remove the chicks as soon as they hatch in this bator? (In case it wasnt totally obvious i am new to this LOL!)

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    First off, if you don't have your own thermometer and hygrometer that is checked and accurate, you need one. The displays for the LG are known to be way off too begin with. Did your hatch start hatching on time?

With that being said, when to remove chicks is a personal decision. Many do leave them in the bator until fluffy, others until the hatch is over, then there are those of us who remove them as they hatch. As long as you have a brooder with one end heated to 95-100F, and draft free, I would do what you are doing to finish this hatch and then I would get yourself a couple thermometers and a hygrometer check them for accuracy and then check them against the incubator.

The LG 9300 and 10300 has a sensor that hangs down and if that sensor is being tossed about or moved from the hatchlings, that can throw off the thermostat and cause heat spikes too. So it may be a matter of stabilizing that as well.

3. AmyLynn2374

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    As for the humidity, that will spike when they hatch, and is not an issue. I run my hatches at 75% and often they shoot 85-90% when I have multiple hatchers hatching at once. But because I open my bator during hatch, it doesn't stay that high for long periods.

4. Dogolady