stop my chicken scratching her eye !

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Lissasmith, Jun 6, 2011.

1. Lissasmith

Lissasmith New Egg

Jun 6, 2011
    I am new to this chicken keeping but last week Pauline our light sussex had a swollen eye , took her to vets was given antibiotics and drops and all seemed to be going well once we finally managed to get the antibiotics in her ( savoy cabbage !) BUt now she wont stop scractching it ! I guess its like us scabs itch ! We had 2 mornigns of what looked like carnage in the coop so now have put her in a box indoors to just check its her and not another one pecking but its her as just done it again ! she eats well and is very lively and it looks better except now she keeps gettign covered in blood !!! Are we just going to have to perservere and keep washing her till it heals ???? should i wrap her up so she cannot scracth herself ??? she looks so sad her beautiful whote feathers covered in blood and so much for a wee lady ! all our girls are approx 26 weeks and so are a bit concerned. Vet said she was a healthy weight and gave her a good look over so know its not mycoplasma !!
    Any advice woudl be grateful even thinking about scratch mits !!!!!!

Thanks
    Lissa

2. Crazy4mypeeps

Crazy4mypeeps Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2011
    Nebraska
    Can you keep it moist? Maybe its drying out enough to make it itch. [​IMG]

3. SillyChicken

SillyChicken Overrun With Chickens

Jan 12, 2010
    I had a chicken with what was thought to be an infection, but she had a piece of wood shaving caught down in her eye lid. I took a large bottle of eye wash solution and rensed her eye really good, got the shavings out and she healed up fine. Could you rig up a collar of shame for her to keep her from scratching her head? Maybe our of a 20 oz pop bottle? (also trim her nails)

4. Anianna

Anianna Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 28, 2010
    N/E of Richmond, VA