Stopped Laying Eggs, Not Eating Pellets

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by rblythew, Jul 11, 2011.

1. rblythew

rblythew New Egg

Jul 11, 2011
    Hello,
    I'm new to raising chickens and byc.com so I apologize if my questions are repetitive or obvious. I am excited to learn all I can. I recently bought 8, 9 month old, barred rock hens to add to our flock of 4 Americanas who were around 4 months. We realized that trying to combine the flocks was a mistake so we sold the Americanas. The first week we had the barred rock hens, they laid 5-6 eggs a day, they seemed to be eating pretty well and were active. They stayed together as a group and adapted well to their new location. The second week they suddenly completely stopped laying eggs. We haven't had an egg in almost two weeks. They are not eating much of their food either. We thought it might be because we were feeding them a different feed than the original owners, so a few days ago we switched to the exact same food as they had been getting. They still are not eating much but they scratch all day and if I bring out a treat like fruit or lettuce they go crazy over it. I see yellowish, gold looking loose stool daily, but not a ton of it. Yesterday I noticed that one the hens was missing. I found her sitting on the ground by herself in front of a fan we put out for them. I've been checking on her and she is always just sitting off in the corner by herself. If I bring her food then she eats some of it, but I think only then. I can't see any obvious signs of illness, but I haven't picked her up because I don't want to stress her out. The others are still active, but they don't eat much and are not laying. What should I do? It's very stressful and discouraging. I want to provide them with a happy home but everyday things seem to just be getting worse. Any comments are extremely appreciated.

2. oesdog

oesdog Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 7, 2010
    Ireland